BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum 2017+ BMW 5 Series (G30) General Discussions Adaptive Headlights Don't Swivel Side to Side Anymore?

05-13-2021, 02:23 PM   #1
Vitola
Rep
Drives: 2024 BMW X5 xDrive 40i

Adaptive Headlights Don't Swivel Side to Side Anymore?

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here.

I have a question. I recently bought a 2021 530i with adaptive headlights. I've owned 14 other BMWs before, and all the models that I've had with adaptive headlights, well you could clearly see the headlights swivel from left to right during their respective turns. But this does not seem to be the case with my new 530i. I took it to the dealer and I started that they are malfunctioning because of this. They ran tests and said the headlights are functioning fine and that BMW adaptive headlights no longer swivel from side to side. Only adjust up and down and use cornering lights.

Is this accurate? Did BMW really do away with side to side swivel? Or is there something wrong with these headlights on a brand new car?

Thanks everyone!
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2021, 02:49 PM   #2
LogicalApex
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2020 BMW 530xe

Garage List
2020 BMW 530xe  [0.00]
Nope, dealer is right as I saw the same on a loaner I had and it has come up many times on the forums.

The LCI headlights are a step backward compared to the headlights on the pre-LCI.
Appreciate 1
Vitola5.50
      05-13-2021, 03:12 PM   #3
Vitola
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by LogicalApex View Post
Nope, dealer is right as I saw the same on a loaner I had and it has come up many times on the forums.

The LCI headlights are a step backward compared to the headlights on the pre-LCI.
Quote:

Wow... How weird. I wonder why BMW would get rid of this feature. I always thought it was great. Well, at least there's no malfunction with my headlights...